PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Image Alt
Info

Yan Morvan

Yan Morvan

Sex, drugs, and wars have been the rhythm of my life

After studying mathematics and becoming a film director, Yan Morvan began reporting on the Hells Angels in Paris, then on the prostitutes of Bangkok. In 1974, he published his first photograph in the daily newspaper Libération.

From 1974 to 1975, he worked for the Fotolib agency of Libération, then for the Norma agency in 1976. In 1976, he published his first book on rockers, Le Cuir et le Baston, the beginning of a long work on gangs that would last twenty years, and began collaborating as a freelancer with Paris Match until 1978, then with Figaro Magazine until 1980. From 1980 to 1988, he was a member of the staff of Sipa Press and a permanent correspondent for the American weekly Newsweek1,2 , for which he covered the main conflicts: Iran-Iraq, Lebanon, Northern Ireland, the Philippines, the fall of the Berlin Wall, Rwanda and Kosovo.

Being a freelance photographer since 1988, he is recognised as one of the contemporary specialists in war photography and regularly collaborates with most of the major international publications3. In 1996, he co-founded with two other photographers, Jean-François Bauret and Didier de Faÿs, the first French photography magazine on the Internet, Photographie.com. From 2004 onwards, he began reporting from the United States and taking on in-depth subjects: the suburbs, victims of war and sexual perversions. In 2009, he began working on a project, Champs de batailles. In 2016, the Rencontres d’Arles devoted an exhibition to him and the Gens d’images a workshop.

Teaching

Putting his reputation and experience at the service of young photographers, he is successively a trainer at the École nationale supérieure de la photographie d’Arles, at the CFD (in charge of the photo course with Patrick Frilet from 1991), and at the CFPJ (Centre de formation professionnelle des journalistes).

Prizes and awards

His war reports earned him a mention for the Robert Capa prize for his work in Lebanon in 1983, two World Press Photo prizes in 1984 and numerous awards from American journalism schools.

Exhibitions

Yan Morvan has exhibited extensively and was selected in 1986 by the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis for a retrospective on photojournalism. In 2000, his series of portraits of young road victims, commissioned by the FNAC (Fonds national d’art contemporain), was exhibited at the international photojournalism festival Visa pour l’image.

best sellers

Paris stories

best sellers

Tour Eiffel

Abonnement

Life seen behind Yan's eyes

2 magazines each month + 1 Hors-Série book every 3 months

33bis rue Doudeauville, Paris 18 https://battcoop.org/ contact@battcoop.org

PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Image Alt
Info

Yan Morvan

Yan Morvan

Sexe, drogue et guerres ont rythmé ma vie

Après des études de mathématiques puis de réalisateur de cinéma, Yan Morvan effectue des reportages sur les Hells Angels de Paris, puis sur les prostituées de Bangkok. En 1974, il publie sa première photographie dans le quotidien Libération.

De 1974 à 1975, il collabore à l’agence Fotolib de Libération, puis à l’agence Norma en 1976. En 1976, il publie son premier livre, sur les rockers, Le Cuir et le Baston, début d’un long travail sur les gangs qui durera vingt ans, et commence à collaborer en tant que pigiste avec Paris Match jusqu’en 1978, puis au Figaro Magazine jusqu’en 1980. De 1980 à 1988, il est membre du staff de Sipa Press et correspondant permanent de l’hebdomadaire américain Newsweek1,2, pour lesquels il couvre les principaux conflits : Iran-Irak, Liban, Irlande du Nord, Philippines, chute du mur de Berlin, Rwanda, Kosovo.

Photographe indépendant depuis 1988, reconnu comme un des spécialistes contemporains de la photo de guerre, il collabore régulièrement avec la plupart des grandes publications internationales3. En 1996, il est cofondateur avec deux autres photographes, Jean-François Bauret et Didier de Faÿs, du premier magazine français de photographie sur Internet, Photographie.com. À partir de 2004, il réalise des reportages aux États-Unis et entreprend des sujets de fond : les banlieues, les victimes de guerres et de perversions sexuelles. À partir de 2009, il s’investit dans un projet, Champs de batailles. En 2016, les Rencontres d’Arles lui consacrent une exposition et les Gens d’images un atelier.

Enseignement

Mettant sa notoriété et son expérience au service des jeunes photographes, il est successivement formateur à l’École nationale supérieure de la photographie d’Arles, au CFD (responsable du stage photo avec Patrick Frilet à partir de 1991), au CFPJ (Centre de formation professionnelle des journalistes).

Prix et récompenses

Ses reportages de guerre lui valent une mention pour le prix Robert-Capa, pour son travail au Liban en 1983, deux prix du World Press Photo en 1984 et de nombreuses récompenses décernées par les écoles de journalisme américaines.

Expositions

Yan Morvan a exposé à de nombreuses reprises et a été sélectionné en 1986 par le Walker Art Center de Minneapolis dans le cadre d’une rétrospective sur le photojournalisme. En l’an 2000, sa série de portraits de jeunes victimes de la route, fruit d’une commande pour le FNAC (Fonds national d’art contemporain), a été exposée au festival international de photojournalisme Visa pour l’image.

best sellers

Paris stories

best sellers

Tour Eiffel

Abonnement

Revivez l'histoire à travers ses yeux

2 magazines par mois + 1 livre Hors-Série tous les 3 mois

33bis rue Doudeauville, Paris 18 https://battcoop.org/ contact@battcoop.org